New Things

Guilt and Yoga

Guilt isn’t a great reason to do something, but maybe that’s an issue for me to address another day. Because it sure is effective!

Part of the reason that I posed my New Things on here was because I knew that some people would pay attention and have expectations of me. If I don’t do my New Things, people will know. The resultant guilt could be a powerful motivator if I needed it to be. Turns out, I already needed it in month #2.

I don’t like to exercise. In fact, I hate it. Let me list some of the reasons why I hate it:

  1. hate sweating. I share with my mother an unfortunate trait: we sweat primarily from our heads. That means, in the midst of that exercise that is oh-so-good-for-you, I have sweat pouring into my eyes, drenching my hair, staining my shirt collar… you get the picture. It’s unpleasant.
  2. I already showered once today, and that took determination enough. Now you want me to exercise, sweat profusely in the manner described above, and then have to shower once again? I. Don’t. Want. To.
  3. I can’t not shower after exercising. You know how some people seem to be oblivious of how bad they smell? I’m not one of them. I have a hyperactive nose, so when I am stinky, I am causing myself just as much—if not more—suffering as I am causing anyone unfortunate enough to be around me.
  4. It makes me cranky. I tried my mom’s pilates videos for a while, and the peppy, over-enthusiastic instructor ticked me off to no end. “Shut up, Denise!” I’d yell in response to another “You’re doing greeeeeeat.”
  5. I don’t like failing, and the feeling of failure often comes when we have too much to compare ourselves to. So many people are so vocal about their exercise and what they’ve achieved. We live in an era of over-sharing, and I have to put up with sometimes seeing maps and times for people’s morning runs. Bleh. Good for you.
  6. It takes time. I’d rather sit and read or waste time on the internet looking at pictures of goats in mailboxes.

Okay, okay. So that last one isn’t a great reason. But it’s there nonetheless.

So it’s May 9, and I haven’t even tried to exercise in any way, shape, or form. I have eaten a lot of Twizzlers, though, and gained a couple pounds. So today, after feeling like I didn’t do nearly enough of the things on my to-do list, I decided to let the guilt wash over me and motivate me.

I’ve used the excuse for the last nine days that I didn’t want to do something that would be painful due to my rheumatoid arthritis, which isn’t under great control right now. “I need to research a little,” I’d say, sounding responsible and logical. But then I wouldn’t. I’d watch a video of magnets doing crazy things and eat another Twizzler. But the guilt led me to the Arthritis Foundation’s website. They said that yoga was a great idea and that it could make me feel better in a bunch of different ways.

And sweat so much Joel gags when he gets home after work, my snarkiness replied.

But guilt is a powerful motivator, and I ordered an arthritis-approved yoga video. 60 minutes long. Oh goody.

When it gets here, you’ll be the first to know. Maybe I’ll even upload a gif of my shaky tree pose or downward-facing dog (those are yoga things, right?). New Things. Yippee.

 

One thought on “Guilt and Yoga

  1. Super with you on the sweating and showering thing. I’ve found non-cotton clothes and exercising first thing (when I’m already gross out of bed) help make it happen for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

