New Things

New Things

I’ve been a bit down recently. Some of it may be due to the fact that Michigan can’t make up its mind about what season it is (we’ve currently got like an inch of snow on the ground, but it’s supposed to be in the 70s next weekend…), but some it of is just internal. I’ve been down, but I’ve also been down on myself a lot recently. I haven’t been very productive, and I’ve done a really good job making myself feel bad about it.

Don’t get me wrong. Some days I’m just lazy, and I’m allowed to feel bad about that. I get sucked into a mobile game or I never really get around to anything on my to-do list. But I’m also too hard on myself, and I know it. Joel has yet to come home from work and say, “Have you seriously not done anything today?” so it’s not that bad yet. Sure, I have days where four o’clock finds me sitting on the couch in my pajamas watching videos of cats, but that’s one of the beauties of working from home, right? Right?

Speaking of which, I do work. But I’m one of those people who, when you ask me what I do, makes your eyes glaze over with my answer. Which is fine. Sometimes my work makes my eyes glaze over. I’d even say often. But I’m doing it. I’m also living in a new city. I’ve cooked five nights a week for almost the entire time I’ve been here, which is a feat. Joel and I are eating home-cooked food and neither of us has died or been hospitalized. It’s going well, guys.

So today had its twists and turns, and while I did have dinner ready a half hour earlier than I planned, I still found plenty of things to feel crappy about. After dinner, Joel started playing Minecraft with his sister over the interwebs, and I was sitting here, trying to decide what to do. I could read. I could write. I could work on handlettering. I could do wedding planning things. But I wanted to do something that would feel like progress. So I did what any type A planner would do: I wrote a list.

Disclaimer: I have already decided that this list is not going to be a do-or-die list. I may change it. I may deviate from it. I may end up ignoring it altogether. You have been warned and disclaimed.

I call it: The 2016 New Things

The goal: Once a month, I am going to start learning a new thing that I keep thinking of trying but never do. I will spend time during the month learning about and attempting the New Thing. And I may even end up pursuing it more in the months to follow (with November’s New Thing, I most definitely will).

So, without further ado….

The 2016 New Things List
April – watercolors
May – pilates (or some other new form of exercise)
June – HTML
July –  camping
August -handlettering on canvases
September – hiking
October – sewing clothes I would actually wear in the everyday
November – marriage
December – dancing

As an added bonus, I will be posting updates here, so it will also help me keep up my blog more than I have been. I know I don’t have a lot of people reading, but if you’d like to join me on some New Things adventures, comment below and let me know what you’re going to try. I’d love to offer support and encouragement, as trying new things is hard. Or, if some of my New Things are your Things I’ve Been Doing Forever, I’d love to hear your suggestions and tips.

Here’s to a 2016 of intentional growth. Cheers.

4 thoughts on “New Things

Leave a Reply

